EMCSR 2010

EMCSR 2010

April 6 - 9, 2010
University of Vienna

organized by the Austrian Society for Cybernetic Studies
in cooperation with the
International Federation for Systems Research

The international support of the European Meetings on Cybernetics and Systems Research held in Austria in 1972, 1974, 1976, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1984, 1986, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006 and 2008 (when 500 scientists from more than 30 countries from all continents, except the Antarctica, met to present, hear and discuss 107 papers) encouraged the Council of the Austrian Society for Cybernetic Studies (OSGK) to organize a similar meeting in 2010 to keep pace with continued rapid developments in related fields.


A Systems Science
R. Belohlavek, USA, G. Klir, USA, and P. Prautsch, Czech Republic
B Mathematical Methods in Cybernetics and Systems Theory
J. Scharinger, Austria
C The Cybernetics of Cybernetics: Cybernetics, Interaction and Conversation
R. Glanville, UK
D Biocybernetics and Mathematical Biology
L. M. Ricciardi, Italy
E Living Systems Theory
V. Kvitash, USA
F Cognitive Rationality, Relativity and Clarity
I. Ezhkova, Belgium
G Governance of Knowledge & Technology as a Societal Distributed Process
E. Buchinger, Austria
H Management, Organizational Change, and Innovation
M. Mulej, Slovenia, G. Steiner, Austria, and S. Umpleby, USA
I Language Technology
E. Buchberger, Austria
J From Agent Theory to Agent Implementation - AT2AI-7
J. Mueller, Germany, and P. Petta, Austria
K Agent-Based Modeling and Simulation
S. Bandini, Italy, G. Vizzari, Italy, and P. Petta, Austria
L Companions, Virtual Butler, Assistive Robots: Empirical and Theoretical Insights for Building Long-Term Social Relationships
D. Heylen, Netherlands, B. Krenn, Austria, and S. Payr, Austria
M Theory and Applications of Artificial Intelligence
V. Marik, Czech Republic, and O. Stepankova, Czech Republic
N Systems Education
G. Ossimitz, Austria and G. Chroust, Austria

Submission Guidelines

Acceptance of contributions will be determined on the basis of Draft Final Papers. Each paper must explain clearly

Draft Final Papers must not exceed 6 pages (10-point, double column, style sheets are available), in English. They have to contain the final text to be submitted, including graphs and pictures.

They must carry the title, author(s) name(s), and affiliation (incl. e-mail address) in this order, and must include an abstract.

Please specify clearly the symposium you would like to submit your paper to. Each scientist shall submit only one paper.

Authors should submit their manuscripts in electronic form by email addressed to

Please send your paper as attachment in .PDF format only! Please use the following subject header for your email:
"EM10_<letter of the Symposium you want to submit your paper to>_<Name of corresponding author>",
e.g. "EM10_A_Meyer".
This should also be the filename of the manuscript. Thank you.

Extended deadline for submission

December 1, 2009

Submissions received after the deadline cannot be considered.

Notification of Acceptance/Rejection

Authors will be notified about acceptance or rejection no later than December 15, 2009.

Final Papers

Electronic camera-ready copies of the final paper will be due by February 5, 2010. Acceptance of the final paper will be based on compliance with the reviewers' comments.


It is understood that each accepted paper is presented personally at the Meeting by one of its authors.

Formatting Instructions

To ensure that all papers in the EMCSR'2010 proceedings have a uniform appearance, authors are asked to adhere to the following instructions. Please note that this already applies for the preparation of draft final papers submitted for review!

For LaTeX users, the following files are available for downloading:
Formatting instructions in LaTeX format [20k]
LaTeX style file [16k]
Bibliography style [24k]

MS-Word users may want to download:
MS Word formatting instructions and style file [60k]
Authors using other text formatting systems are asked to download and print one of the files:
Formatting instructions in Postscript format [200k]
Formatting instructions in PDF format [156k]
and follow the guidelines given therein (NB. the format of these files conforms to the required formatting standard, so the printout may be used to check the layout of your paper).

Conference Fee

The Final Paper must be accompanied by the payment of the Conference Fee.

The Conference Fee includes participation in the Twentieth European Meeting, attendance at official receptions, coffee during breaks, and the volumes of the proceedings available at the Meeting. Please send cheque, or transfer the amount (free of charges for beneficiary) to the account no. 0026-34400/00 of the Austrian Society for Cybernetic Studies at UniCredit Bank Austria, Vienna
Bank routing number: 12000,
IBAN: AT11 1100 0002 6344 0000,

Please state your name clearly.

Hotel Accommodation

will be handled by

Verkehrsbüro-Ruefa Reisen GmbH
Dresdner Strasse 81-85
A-1200 Vienna
phone +43-1-58800-514
fax +43-1-58800-520.

You can use Austropa's secure online hotel reservation form for your booking. Information on the available hotels is provided as well.


The International Federation for Systems Research is willing to provide a limited number of scholarships covering the registration fee for the conference for colleagues from weak currency countries. Applications should be sent to the Conference Secretariat before November 4, 2009 under all circumstances.


The conference organizers can accept no liability for personal injuries, or for loss or damage to property belonging to conference participants, either during or as a result of the conference. Please check the validity of your personal insurance.

Chairman of the Meeting

Professor Dr. Robert Trappl, President
Austrian Society for Cybernetic Studies


Professor Dr. Gerhard Chroust
International Federation for Systems Research

Dr. Paolo Petta
Austrian Research Institute for Artificial Intelligence


Eva Scherag
Austrian Society for Cybernetic Studies

A-1010 Vienna 1, Freyung 6/6 (Austria)
Phone: +43-1-5336112-19
Fax: +43-1-5336112-77

Programme Committee

S. Bandini (Italy) V. Marik (Czech Republic)
R. Belohlavek (USA) M. Mulej (Slovenia)
E. Buchberger (Austria) M. Mueller (Germany)
E. Buchinger (Austria) S. Payr (Austria)
G. Chroust (Austria) P. Petta (Austria)
I. Ezhkova (Belgium) P. Prautsch (Czech Republic)
R. Glanville (UK) L. M. Ricciardi (Italy)
J. Gratch (USA) J. Scharinger (Austria)
D. Heylen (Netherlands) G. Steiner (Austria)
G. Klir (USA) O. Stepankova (Czech Republic)
B. Krenn (Austria) R. Trappl (Austria)
V. Kvitash (USA) S. Umpleby (USA)
G. Vizzari (Italy)

Organizing Committee

G. Chroust P. Petta
S. Hayek E. Scherag
J. Matiasek R. Trappl